Why so serious?

“Why so serious?” It’s not just a great saying from one of my all time favorite comic book villains but it also sums up my outlook on… well, almost everything.
As I write this I’m reminded of a family member making the comment that I’d sell more books if I were more serious. While that could be the case I also have to say that just isn’t me.

Let me explain. All my life people have informed me that I am a “very personable person”. That’s in quotes because that’s how friends, family, co-workers and acquaintances have described me. Time and again I’ve been informed that I “have the gift of gab” and that “people just like you”. Apparently that’s just how I am… likeable.

It goes beyond that though. I enjoy making people smile because I like it when people smile. Hell, I like, no, LOVE to entertain. Sure you can be serious and entertain but not very many people can get a smile from a straight-faced, serious person.

I also love to write horror and in doing so I’ve come to see that life is stressful like it is in a horror novel. Everyone worries or is fearful about something in his or her daily life. It doesn’t matter if it’s something as simple as what to have for dinner, or middle ground stressful like a child’s messy room or extremely stress like being short on a mortgage or rent payment. Whatever your life is like we all stress over or fear something everyday. Even I’m not immune to this.

Example:
Recently I’ve been diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes and that shocked the daylights out of me. “Shocked” is putting it lightly. “Terrified” was more like it. My mother was 63 years old when she died and it was Type 1 Diabetes that took her. Sixty-three is a young age in my mind so how could I not take such news seriously?

Though I have been given this serious diagnosis I know that it can be reversed and it could be much worse. I could have been diagnossed with cancer or something just as devastating. Still, I laughed. Save for my wife, my extended family was shocked and slightly dismayed that I’m still joking about everything around me.

My response to them was, you guessed it, “Why so serious?”

I’ve been asked, “Why aren’t you taking this seriously?” Yes, I know some will ask that and my answer is this… I am.

I see it like this; you have multiple choices in life when faced with such a situation. 1) You can furrow your brow and say, “I’m beating this” and then get grim and tackle it, which is a solid option. 2) You can shrug it off like an idiot and say “What the Hell do they know.” I know people even today with this attitude. 3) You can make the changes and laugh at your own stupidity. Three was my choice. I knew my family history and I ignored it. That in itself was utterly stupid. But still I laugh as I evolve.

Once informed I smiled, laughed, and started listening to my doctor and nutrionist and following what they recommended. Why I have even began doing what my wife tells me to do. Now, that’s a change! See? I made a joke; a clichéd one but a joke nonetheless.

What few in my extended family fail to realize is this; will being serious all the time sell more books or help my health? Maybe it will but laughter and a postive outlook are strong medicines indeed. First and foremost I want to be, and will strive to remain, approachable, personable and friendly to all. In my life I’ve come closer to death than I’ve ever cared to get and I was fortunate that God allowed me to walk away. I understand that how I’ve touched people’s lives is just as important as selling any book I have written or ever may write.

So my question to you is “Why so serious?” Be fun, be kind and treat others with the respect and gentle smile that you would want. A smile and a laugh can save someone’s life, I know it did mine :).

About Jason McKinney

I'm a word slinging, werewolf loving, zombie wrangling, scare master author, husband and father of three. When I'm not writing, I'm blathering nonsense to the world or taking orders from the family. You have my thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the madness and mayhem! Stay delicious, my living peeps!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Life Happenings! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why so serious?

  1. Violeta says:

    Oh my. First of all, you won’t believe this but we’re VERY alike. I laugh everything off. And this: “But still I laugh as I evolve.” Story of my life. It does annoy people (esp. my mother), but what the hell, it’s my life, my choices. As I choose to laugh and make others laugh, I choose to survive. It’s a touch world out there…

    Second, I am so sorry that you have to go through this, Jason. I hate it when these things happen to good people, but life’s not about being fair is it. I can laugh this off too right now, but am too tired. 😀 So you’ve the right attitude! Serious people sometimes suffer for their choices, I’ve seen it time and again. Humor is NOT just fun, it’s evolutionary in my book, just like you suggested. Hell, this inspires a post of my own, lol.

    So thanks for sharing this and keep fighting. Mostly, keep the funny. 🙂

    • Thanks Violeta. Everyone of us has things happen that leave us asking “why me?” You can either let it grind you down, which we’ve all seen happen, or we can smile, laugh and move forward. Life isn’t fair. As someone dear to me once said, “Fair is a place you go to ride rides.”
      You either make the most of what you’ve been given or you say to hell with this and get bitter. The latter’s not us, is it? 🙂

  2. Spot says:

    I wholeheartedly agree with everything you’ve said. I had a biopsy a couple of years ago and on an ovarian cyst. While waiting for results, my family joked it up. I said if I had to have chemo, I was going to dye my hair purple. If it was going to fall out anyway who cared? My kids also picked vibrant colors and agreed to shave their heads with me. A bad mammogram right before vacation? I told my husband I was going to show off “my girls” in case it was their last vacation! I do have a chronic illness and sometimes it cause me to be easily confused. My kids laugh and joke about it and so do I. Life is way too stressful to be taken seriously all the time.

    Do what the doctors and Tab tell you. And keep joking. Laughter really is the best medicine.

    Stacey

    • I am sorry to hear about the cyst. I trust it wasn’t serious. Even with that said, I’m glad to hear you and the family kept your humor about yourselves. 🙂 I hate that your illness leaves you confused sometimes but again, you don’t let it get you down. We each have a finite time here and we each need to make use of that time. Productive, positive use.
      lol I couldn’t stop laughing about “your girls”. Outstanding attitude! Life throws these things at us for a reason. We don’t know why but it happens and it’s what you do with them that matters. That’s just my opinion.

      My mother had breast cancer at the age of 41 and had a mastectomy. She smoked like a freight train for over forty years but quit six years before she died. Cancer runs in my family and my favorite uncle has been in and out of chemo for the past few years with Pancreatic Cancer. He spent over thirty years in the US Navy, most of that time at sea, and he never smoked a day in his life. Still, he keeps a positive attitude and a sailor’s sharp wit about him. I think of him and my mother and know that life gives you these things so you can find out things about yourself that you knew weren’t there.

      We keep moving forward, don’t we, Stacey? We laugh as we do what needs to be done, knowing that the laughter can heal us and those around us. 🙂

      • Spot says:

        Of course we do, Jason! Because we’re survivors. And survivors take each new thing life throws at them and incorporates it into who they are. My motto has always been “when it comes down to laugh or cry, laugh. Because if you laugh, the world laughs with you. If you cry, your mascara runs and you just look silly.”
        Stacey

      • lol I love it! I know for a fact I’d look damn silly with running mascara. I can say for a fact that i also rock some high heels as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

