Thank you to those that enjoyed Dog World and Memoirs of the Walking Dead

Since Moonlight’s review of Dog World I have received some messages from folks saying how much they’ve enjoyed my books. I’ve grappled with doing this post because I don’t want to seem vain or like an obnoxious jerk, but these people’s praise has touched me and made me proud of what I have done. So, I have decided to share it to give them the recognition they deserve.

I must say a big thank you to Mr. Antonio Jones for leaving the following comment on Amazon.com for Dog World.

“Dog World was one of the best werewolf novels I have read thus far if y’all need a good werewolf book to read this is it. Watch people closely you will never know if that person is an evil werewolf or not lol.”

This was my first reader driven review and I was tickled that Antonio enjoyed it so much to say such a flattering thing. Thank you, Antonio, from the bottom of my heart. It really meant a lot to me especially since it came at a time when I was doubting myself and my work. The first chapter of the sequel to Dog World is coming, buddy.

Then I received two Twitter direct messages from people who I follow, and who follow me in return, saying that they have enjoyed my books.

First, @dcanidae AKA Accalia is one of my friends on Twitter I met due to our mutual interest in wolves. It didn’t hurt at all that we’re both into animal protection and conservation either. With her permission, I’m posting her DM regarding Dog World

“OK Jason, new fave book is Dog World-NO DOUBT. When is the next one due out, because someone has to tear off Vance’s head! Great ending.”

Her words really made my day. Every author wants to hear something like that from a reader, especially when there are so many wonderful authors out there. It made me feel like my writing really is worthwhile. Thank you, Accalia! Like Antonio, I’m sending her the first chapter of the Dog World sequel as a way to say thank you to those who have verbally supported my work.

Hopefully, everyone who knows about Dog World also knows about the first book I self published, which is the second book I wrote, titled Memoirs of the Walking Dead: A story from the zombie’s point of view. Woof. That was long-winded.

Memoirs of the Walking Dead was written after Dog World and is a total 180 from it. Memoirs is a horror comedy, though it could be a comedy horror, while Dog World is a horror/drama/action mix and feels more… horrific. Even though Memoirs is humor, straight up, it has had its share of pleasant reader reactions as well.

One such reaction was from @SteveDaZombie AKA Steve the Zombie. I met SteveDaZombie on Twitter and he’s entertained me ever since. Steve is currently reading the book to review and he had this to say.

“Just started your book. Funny shit man! reads like your sitting at a bar listening to a guy tell his story… who happens to be dead”

Thank you, SteveDaZombie! His comment was the reaction I was shooting for when I was writing Memoirs from an everyday “zombie’s” perspective.

I have a short story I was considering posting today but the urge to take a moment and thank my readers was pulling at me stronger. Thank you, Antonio, Accalia, and Steve for reading my work and letting me know how much you’ve enjoyed the stories.

I also what to say a special Thank you! to everyone that has purchased a copy of either or both Memoirs of the Walking Dead and Dog World. It’s your support that keeps me writing.

About Jason McKinney

I'm a word slinging, werewolf loving, zombie wrangling, scare master author, husband and father of three. When I'm not writing, I'm blathering nonsense to the world or taking orders from the family. You have my thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the madness and mayhem! Stay delicious, my living peeps!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Dog World Press, Life Happenings!, Memoirs Press and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank you to those that enjoyed Dog World and Memoirs of the Walking Dead

  1. Antonio J says:

    Thanks so much for the mention Jason can’t wait for more Dog World stuff.

  2. You’re welcome, Antonio and thank you for being a fan! Dog World wouldn’t be where it is without readers like you! 🙂

  3. I just finished Dog World last night and wanted to say I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed the Lycans being Bi-pedal unlike what seems to be popular these days and I really enjoyed that you made Vampires pathetic and compared them to Cockroaches.

    It is tough finding good Werewolf novels and I am very happy to see that you are working on a sequel right now. The ending of Dog World was a perfect spot to end for the first book with that in mind.

    Thanks

    • I am so happy you enjoyed it! Thank you for reading Dog World and commenting on it, Jim. It is difficult to find a good werewolf novel that features lycans as the supreme “supernatural” being. It seems that it is the norm to have werewolves appear as simply four legged wolves instead of the bi-pedal humanoid wolf.
      I personally grew up on the Lon Chaney, Jr. Wolfman and I’ve always loved the bi-ped lycan compared to the four legged version. I’ve like vampires but have always leaned toward the way Max Schrek’s vampire appeared in Nosferatu.
      I’m shooting for early 2012 for the Dog World sequel but will post insights to the first Dog World from time to time. Again, thanks for your support and I’m very glad to have made your aquaintance!

Leave a Reply

