Swedish Zombie Reviews Memoirs

I once tweeted, “What’s better than a Swedish meatball? Why @aSwedishZombie, of course.” That was a Follow Friday shout out to Jonny Berg, the owner/operator of Swedish Zombie

I met Mr. Berg on Twitter, which is where I seem to meet all my friends, associates and contacts these days. (After reading that three times, I’m beginning to wonder if I’m becoming a shut in.) Regardless, he flattered me out of the clear blue with a tweet saying that Swedish Zombie wanted to talk with me.

Let me say that I was thrilled someone contacted me wanting to talk about my book, Memoirs of the Walking Dead instead of the other way around. But what really blew me out of the water was that the Swedish Zombie really was Swedish and not just playing on the phrase Swedish meatball.

Jonny has purchased a copy of Memoirs and was endeavoring to read it while on holiday in Spain. His requests were simple: Would you be willing to have the book reviewed, have an interview done and give two books away in a contest? My answer was a resounding YES! How could I not say yes?

Jonny does not usually appreciate humor in zombie novels and that made me feel even more honored that he was willing to give Memoirs a shot. My wife said, “he’s going to be a hard sell,” and she was right, he was, which makes the wonderful things he has said about Memoirs that much more wonderful. By all accounts, Jonny likes the seriousness of the zombie apocalypse. Though he’s not a run of the mill zombie fanatic that says, “this is the way they are and everything else is crap.” He’s open to all forms of the undead, whether it’s running zombies, shambling zeds or even self-conscious zacks. He likes them all, but like I said, he does like his zombies 100% serious.

Even with all that there was something about Memoirs that he enjoyed. I say it was the humor but my wife says it was probably Charlotte the Zombie Cat. What can I say? Everyone seems to love that immoral, unrepentant, psychopathic, undead feline.

Whatever the reason, Jonny gave Memoirs a grudging 4 out of 5 stars. He loved the story even though it wasn’t his normal undead reading fare. For that, I thank him.

I also thank him for the challenge he’s given me; writing a serious zombie short story, even if it’s main character or characters are like Paul and Tracey, especially for Swedish Zombie. I’ve taken up the challenge with great enthusiasm. I’m half way through the story now with first publishing rights of it going directly to Jonny.

One quick word of warning, the site is in Swedish, which I think adds another level of awesomeness to the whole thing, but is easily translatable with the of the translate button. What else would you expect from The Swedish Zombie?

With no further adieu, here’s the Swedish Zombie review link to Memoirs of the Walking Dead:

 Swedish Zombie’s Review of Jason McKinney’s Memoirs of the Walking Dead

About Jason McKinney

I'm a word slinging, werewolf loving, zombie wrangling, scare master author, husband and father of three. When I'm not writing, I'm blathering nonsense to the world or taking orders from the family. You have my thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the madness and mayhem! Stay delicious, my living peeps!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Life Happenings!, Memoirs Press and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

