Basement Blues and Other Stories by Janet Sked

Halloween is here! And in honor of the most sacred of horror days and the last day of Coffin Hop I am recommend the perfect Halloween treat. Basement Blues and Other Stories is a collection of spooky tales by Janet Sked to get you in the scaring mood.

Janet starts us off with Basement Blues a fun noir style story. Only this time instead of ole’ Sam Spade our detectives are “monsters”. Astrid, a vampire, Ruth, a ghost and Bill, well, you have to read the story to find out what he is, run Blue Moon Detective Agency. They specialize in handling the more unusual cases and they get a doozy of one when Susan, a zombie with a problem, shows up. Susan has a ghost in her basement that is trying to kill her…again. Why, you ask? Now, if I told you that I would give away a wonderful gasping twist in this fun spooky tale about how monsters can make the best of friends.

In her next tale Dim, Janet wrenches your heart out with a story about a man turned child by the horrors of war and how they continue to haunt and terrify him into his innocence. Charlie went to war to serve his country and came back with half a brain, literally, and a fear of the dark. When his convoy was hit by friendly fire he was trapped for two days with his dead comrades under an overturned half buried truck. Now he is being taken care of by his ailing grandmother and ignored by a sister he adores. What is it in the dark that scares him so much? When you find out it will make your skin crawl and want to scream in terror.

And last, but not least is Pushing Janey, a tale about a young man, Phan, and a young woman who catch each others eye in Piccadilly Station. Unfortunately, before Phan can learn the young woman’s name she has a terrible accident and is killed. Why is it then that the young man is still seeing her at the Station with a strange star like dark spot on her back? To make things even weirder he starts to see other people that are there one minute and gone the next, each with the same star shaped dark spot. Are these people trying to tell him something? Find out what the dead are saying to Phan in this physiological thriller that will leave your head spinning.

Janet even throws in the first three chapters of her début novel Wolfsong at the end of Basement Blues and Other Stories to tantalize our imaginations and bring us into a world of myth, monsters, and magic that leave us yearning for more.

I became acquainted with Janet in the same place I seem to meet all my friends, Twitter. If not for Twitter, I’d never have met this kick ass author who resides across the Atlantic in jolly old horrificLondonEngland. I dare say that I’d be poorer if I hadn’t met her.

Basement Blues and Other Stories can be found on Amazon and Smashwords and Janet’s Wolfsong can also be found on Amazon and Smashwords.

To find out more about Janet visit her blog JHSked at http://jhsked.blogspot.com/

Follow her on Twitter @JHSked

And check out her art at Shadowkatz Art at http://shadowkatzart.blogspot.com/

About Jason McKinney

I'm a word slinging, werewolf loving, zombie wrangling, scare master author, husband and father of three. When I'm not writing, I'm blathering nonsense to the world or taking orders from the family. You have my thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the madness and mayhem! Stay delicious, my living peeps!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Review, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Basement Blues and Other Stories by Janet Sked

  1. I did a book spotlight for this book a few weeks ago. Small world.

  2. This sounds fairly awesome!

    Happy Halloween!

  3. I loved your review and got me so interested that I actually bought the book, so I’ll say, WELL DONE! I’m coming (a little late but here anyway) from the coffin hop and I love your blog, will be back for more soon. My blog is http://diaryofawriterinprogress.blogspot.com/ and my Fb page is https://www.facebook.com/pages/Perpetual-Night-by-Georgina-Morales/159894374059399 if you find it interesting enough to follow me. Take care and I hope you had a great Halloween!

    • Thank you, Georgina. Janet is a superb writer and I think you’ll enjoy her book. I know I did. lol Thank you also for your info. I’m always interested in visiting new blogs and FB friends. 😀

  4. J H Sked says:

    Hi Jason – Thank you so much for an awesome review, and I’m really glad you liked this. I’m giggling and blushing while typing, which just proves I really can multi-task! You’ve made my week.

  5. Pingback: Wolfsong by Janet Sked Review |

  6. Pingback: Creepfest Christmas Story “Yes, Astrid, there is a Santa” by Janet Sked |

Leave a Reply

