Always late, or more appropriately “where have you been, Jason?”

 

This is me for the past two weeks

Have you ever had one of those months in which joining a society of sworn to silence monks or a nunnery has ever appealed to you? That’s the way it’s been here.

At the end of last year our transmission started slipping in second gear. As a one vehicle family with limited funds this posed a great problem for us. We decided to hold off on repairs until we could get the cash together. A week after that, we developed a severe oil leak. When it rains, it pours.

Next was the issue of giving Dog World another once over to make it more appealing to the world. I got halfway through before receiving an email that Amazon was holding its annual Breakthrough Novel contest. Dog World was too large so Memoirs of the Walking Dead would have to do. I had 12 days to get it done and that didn’t seem to be an issue. “Didn’t seem to be an issue” and a confirmation of “not being an issue” is two different things.

It became an issue when things began to pop up, adding unwanted stress and aggrivation into the equation.

We’d gathered the funds to have the car problems addressed while re-proofing Memoirs proceeded along nicely. I was 60 pages along when the transmission shop called two days after dropping the car off to let me know that it would be ready by the end of their business day. I thought, “Great!” What wasn’t great was not getting the call and visiting the closed shop to find it still on the rack and in pieces. I was fit to kill.

Needless to say, the vehicle was in the shop for a week and that left us with trying to find transportation to Emily’s speech therapy. Emily has Phonological Dyslexia and her therapy is extremely important and 20 miles away. Family outings could be postponed but not therapy. Never therapy. What happened next was borrowing vehicles from family members that were worried more about you scratching the paint than Emily getting the help she needs. Welcome, stress! Where the hell have you been?

 In that time, I was concerned about things that a lot of us take for granted if you own a vehicle. It added stress to Tabitha as well. Her stress amplified my stress and we had a huge stress circle. Ain’t life grand?

The added stress of relying on family for rides and loaners has affect everything from the quality of Emily’s at home therapy, to cooking dinner (who knew that beef stroganoff could start a war), to writing, to tweeting. I say again, ain’t life grand?

As I write this, I had our vehicle for 36 hours before driving it to our mechanic to get that oil leak repaired. It’s a little costly in the way of money we really don’t have, but it’s getting done. I miss having nothing more to worry about than writing, grocery shopping and taking Emily to therapy. Hopefully, keep your fingers crossed, that once we get the vehicle back we’ll have normalcy in our lives again.

Just thought I would post and let you, my loyal reader, know that I’m not dead and will continue to annoy the world and those around me.

About Jason McKinney

I'm a word slinging, werewolf loving, zombie wrangling, scare master author, husband and father of three. When I'm not writing, I'm blathering nonsense to the world or taking orders from the family. You have my thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the madness and mayhem! Stay delicious, my living peeps!
This entry was posted in Misc.. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Always late, or more appropriately “where have you been, Jason?”

  1. Billy Deen says:

    Glad you’re back Jason. Wondered a couple of times why I didn’t see the pretty mug popping up on twitter. Hope all is well. Hang in there. You’ll get through it.

    Billy Deen

    • lol Thanks, William. I’d sit down to write or tweet or blog or anything and I’d feel the tension from it all get in the way of my oddball charm.
      We’re better now, thanks. The Odyssey is getting it’s last repair and after that, it’s the open road. Well, actually a trip to Firehouse Subs that Tab’s been craving for the past month. We’ll call that our big “vehicle repair celebration.”. 😀

  2. Hang in there Jason and Tab… know that we’re thinking good and positive thoughts for this year 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Jennifer. It means the world to Tab and I to know people like you and to call them friend. Now I only have stress to get Memoirs done, and that I can deal with. 😀

  3. When it rains it does pour, I totally agree! But that’s when you need to get the cistern out and start catching it for the dry days 😉 Vehicle repairs are never fun and happen at the most inopportune time; they’re a lot like family… You can always count on them until they develop a problem 😛

    Cheer up buttercup! I’m glad you’re back with us! I missed you!

    • Thank you, Julianne. It’s been a wild roller coaster because of it all. I think the worst was the four nights I only slept 3 to 4 hours each. I like that family/cars analogy. It seems very fitting these days. lol 😀

  4. I am glad you are hanging in there, Jason and I am hoping everthing is going well for you. If you need someone to talk to just let me know I am on skype like all the time lol.

  5. Good to see that you’re alive and kicking, Jason. Hang in there. This too shall pass. And good luck with the Amazon Breakthrough Novel contest.

    Take care, my friend!

    Rob

    • Someone once said, “It’s like kidney stones. This too shall pass.” lol We received our minvan back today and *knock on wood* it’ll hold up. It runs great now and it should after the beating we took on getting it repaired. 😛 Thanks for the well wishes. Maybe this year I’ll actually advance past submission. lol

  6. Sorry to hear about those stressors Jason and Tab. Glad to hear the car is getting taken care of. Jason, how’s the edits on Memoirs? I would have been frustrated switching projects like that. I hope you can pick up where you left off on Dog World. Is there still time to submit to the Amazon thingee?

    • Thank you so much, Tim. I’m about 3/4 of the way completed but the clock is ticking. Submission deadline is 2/5 and that doesn’t leave much time to be anything but fast. :-/
      I hated switching gears, especially since I was advancing so well with Dog World, but what can you do? If I don’t roll with the punches then I’m sure life will break out the brass knuckles on me. lol

  7. AKMamma says:

    OH MAN! SO glad you are still alive! *GRIN* Give Tab a hug! Hey.. be thankful your cabin was not attacked by a moose last night … seriously.. hehe

  8. Tab says hey, Kriss! If given the choice between a PO’ed moose and car problems, I’ll go with the car problems. At least I can push that off on someone else. lol

  9. T.K. Millin says:

    Jason, we have missed you! You made a great post out of a stressful situation, just another display of your talent. It is amazing when we reach the other side of a stressful situation how amazing it is when we look back and realize all that we overcame. Hang in and that’s exciting about the Amazon Novel Competition. 🙂 Efi Loo says, hi and welcome back!

    • lol Just you saying I have talent is high praise indeed, TK! The past three years have been traumatic, but you’re right. We’ve looked back at them and said, “Wow. We really lived through all that? Amazing!” Thank you so much and give my best to the darling Efi Loo. 😀

Leave a Reply

