Help me spread the word…

This is me. Left outside in the cold. Again.

This is me. Left outside in the cold. Again.

Because the world needs my destructive help.

Have you heard the joke about the husband telling his friends that if he did this or that or the other then his wife would have sex with him again? I’m sure you’ve heard something like it. Well that’s not my problem or what this blog post is about. Not exactly at least. I’ll explain in a moment.

A couple of weeks ago were-fan vargulfen commented on my post, I’ve stepped in it again, that I should give Indiegogo a shot in raising funds for my writing. I’ve been mulling that suggestion over since then and I’ve come to a decision; I’ll do it.

Kickstarter was a bust for me. It flopped because I couldn’t give it the attention it deserved and I was in a pretty crappy mental place when I started it. Now I’m in a better place; a more hopeful place. So that’s why the opening sentence in this post is a link. The link is to my Indiegogo crowdfunding project. Since I’ve left my job I can concentrate on writing, but that takes some backing in some areas. Those areas for me are editing and cover art.

I have friends that can, and have done what they could, for little to nothing, but they have full-time jobs and families, and sometimes I fall through the cracks through no fault of their own. It happens.

The target of my crowdfunding is Werewolves of the Dead. I started this about three years ago, and got halfway through before I had to return to a full-time job. Werewolves of the Dead fell to the wayside and to the demands of Dog World: Gone to Hell. That cost me the greatest beta reader I could ever hope to have; my wife, Tabitha.

Once I pushed WotD aside in favor of DW:GtH she swore she wouldn’t read anything I wrote until I finished Werewolves of the Dead. It’s been three years, and she’s held to that promise. That woman wasn’t kidding in the slightest. “It’s the best thing you’ve written yet,” she said. “Go back to it. Because let me tell you, I’m not reading anything until you finish Werewolves of the Dead.” I asked if she were joking, to which she replied, “Try me.” I told her she was bluffing. “Nope. I’m not going to read anything until you finish that. I’m telling you it’s the best thing you’ve ever done. You’ve done good, great, and shit. This is the greatest. Now finish it.” I scoffed. She didn’t back down one bit. The only things I write that she takes the time to read these days is the occasional grocery list or email. Like I said, she wasn’t kidding.

So now I have picked up were I left off on Werewolves of the Dead. More accurately I am going over what has been written to refresh the story. She’s right. It is good. It’s goddamned good.

So, I would forever be in your debt if you could find it in your heart to spread the word or donate a little to the kitty. Whatever you do, even if it’s just reading this blog, know that I do thank you for your time. And I should mention that there are incentives in it for those that do. If you’ve visited my Indiegogo page then you understand what I mean when I say that I am dying to wear a zombie chicken outfit.

About Jason McKinney

I'm a word slinging, werewolf loving, zombie wrangling, scare master author, husband and father of three. When I'm not writing, I'm blathering nonsense to the world or taking orders from the family. You have my thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy the madness and mayhem! Stay delicious, my living peeps!
This entry was posted in Life Happenings!, Misc., Werewolves of the Dead and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

